Haiti_1116_BCMalnutrition-LouisFamily_CAvila_118 3.jpg

Gender-based violence 

We fight injustice by making health care accessible to those who need it most.

Improving the situation of women affected by sexual violence

Gender-Based Violence (GBV) against girls and women in Haiti is a serious health and human rights problem. Access to care, psychological and health services and legal remedies is limited due to lack of resources, political will, economic insecurity, gender imbalances and widespread poverty. Reports indicate that one in three women in Haiti, age 15 to 49, experienced physical and / or sexual violence, and for girls aged 13 to 17, school settings were the second most common spaces for unwanted touching. Zanmi Lasante (ZL) strives to engage a vast institutional network to provide services and improve the situation of women affected by sexual violence in the Central Plateau and the department of  Lower Artibonite.

 

The ZL Women's Health team, working closely with the Psychosocial Support team, Multipurpose Community Health Workers (ASCPs), and community educators, provides prevention, care and treatment services to victims of rape and sexual violence. ZL takes a robust community approach, also working with local police forces, the Ministry of Women and Women's Rights, district health directors and women's groups to increase awareness of available GBV services, as well as provide emergency psychosocial and medical support in all clinics and hospitals supported by ZL. Although ZL has made significant strides in providing treatment and support to victims of sexual violence, much remains to be done and more resources mobilized for this cause in order to reinforce women's rights for healthcare, in relations to GBV and social and legal justice.

With regard to child protection, ZL supports a network of around 10,000 orphaned and vulnerable children (EOV), including 800 HIV-positive children, across the Central Plateau and Lower Artibonite who benefit from a set of support services, such as educational allowances and psychosocial resources. ZL provides educational assistance to around 2,500 EOVs and has helped around 8,500 children collect birth certificates in close collaboration with the Institute for Social Welfare and Research (IBESR) in Haiti.

Haiti_1116_BCMalnutrition-LouisFamily_CAvila_118 3.jpg

Violence basée sur le Genre 

Nous luttons contre l'injustice en rendant les soins de santé accessibles pour ceux qui en ont le plus besoin.

Améliorer la situation des femmes touchées par la violence sexuelle

La Violence Basée sur le Genre (VBG) envers des filles et des femmes en Haïti est un grave problème de santé et de droits de l’homme. L’accès aux soins, aux services psychologiques et de santé et aux recours juridiques est limité en raison du manque de ressources, de la volonté politique, de l’insécurité économique, des déséquilibres entre les sexes et de la pauvreté généralisée. Les rapports indiquent qu’une femme sur trois en Haïti, âgée de 15 à 49 ans, a subi des violences physiques et/ou sexuelles, et plus particulièrement pour les filles de 13 à 17 ans, les milieux scolaires étaient le deuxième endroit le plus commun pour les attouchements non désirés. Zanmi Lasante (ZL) s’efforce d’engager un vaste réseau institutionnel pour fournir des services et améliorer la situation des femmes touchées par la violence sexuelle dans le Plateau central et les départements du bas de l’Artibonite.

 

L’équipe de santé des femmes de ZL, travaillant en étroite collaboration avec l’équipe de soutien psychosocial, les agents de santé communautaires polyvalents (ASCPs) et les éducateurs communautaires, offre des services de prévention, de soins et de traitement aux victimes de viol et de violence sexuelle. ZL adopte une approche communautaire robuste, travaillant également avec les forces de police locales, le Ministère de la Femme et des Droits de la Femme, les directeurs de la santé de district et les groupes de femmes afin de mieux faire connaître les services de VBG disponibles et de fournir un soutien psychosocial et médical d’urgence dans toutes les cliniques et hôpitaux soutenus par ZL. Bien que ZL ait fait d’importants progrès dans la prestation de traitements et de soutien aux victimes de violence sexuelle, il reste encore beaucoup à faire et à davantage de ressources mobilisées pour cette cause afin de réaliser les droits des femmes pour les soins de santé liés au VBG et la justice sociale et juridique.

En ce qui concerne la protection de l’enfance, ZL soutient un réseau d’environ 10 000 enfants orphelins et vulnérables (EOV), dont 800 enfants séropositifs, à travers le Plateau Central et le Bas-Artibonite qui bénéficient d’un ensemble de services de soutien, tels que des allocations éducatives et des ressources psychosociales. ZL fournit une aide scolaire à environ 2 500 EOV et a aidé environ 8 500 enfants à récupérer des certificats de naissance en étroite collaboration avec l’Institut de Bien-Être Social et de Recherche (IBESR) en Haïti.