Haiti_20211216_Residents Training_mjeanty_00024.jpg

Medical Education

We fight injustice by making health care accessible to those who need it most.

Increase the number of trained doctors and nurses in Haiti

Along with Zanmi Lasante's (ZL) commitment to quality healthcare, comes an equally strong commitment to investing in training clinical providers in its 15 healthcare facilities. With less than one health care provider per 1,000 people, while the recommended ratio is 4.5, Haiti is struggling with the lack of formally trained health professionals. Haiti currently only meets 14.22% of its need for health care providers. In addition, aspiring Haitian doctors and nurses are often drawn to opportunities outside the country, where they stay after graduation. The medical education program at ZL strives to educate these aspiring medical professionals while encouraging them to stay in Haiti through valuable placements and continuing education.  

Since 2012, ZL has been working in partnership with the School of Medicine and Pharmacy of the State University of Haiti and the Ministry of Public Health and Population (MSPP) to launch 6 residency programs and 3 scholarships. Through these programs at Mirebalais University Hospital (HUM) and Saint-Nicolas de Saint-Marc Hospital (HSN), ZL aims to increase the number of trained doctors and nurses in Haiti.  

HUM is the first institution in a low- and middle-income country to receive accreditation from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME-I). 

In 2020, HUM was awarded the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME-I), the international arm of the United States-based Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. The teaching hospital joins internationally accredited institutions in just seven other countries and is the first of its kind in the Western Hemisphere and the first in a low-income country. This not only further validates the quality of the medical education program, but also opens up opportunities for residents to continue their education and bring additional resources to the teaching hospital.

Residency programs in:​

  • Family Medicine 

  • Pediatrics 

  • Emergency Care

  • Internal Medicine 

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology 

  • General Surgery 

Scholarship programs in:​

  • Neurology 

  • Infirmary Anesthesiologist 

  • Emergency Point-of-Care Ultrasound

Haiti_20211216_Residents Training_mjeanty_00024.jpg

Education Médicale

Nous luttons contre l'injustice en rendant les soins de santé accessibles pour ceux qui en ont le plus besoin.

Augmenter le nombre de médecins et d’infirmières formés en Haïti

L’engagement de Zanmi Lasante (ZL) envers des soins de santé de qualité s’accompagne d’un engagement tout aussi ferme à investir dans la formation des prestataires cliniques dans ses 15 établissements de santé. Avec moins d’un prestataire de soins de santé pour 1 000 personnes alors que le ratio recommandé est de 4,5, Haïti se débat avec le manque de professionnels de la santé officiellement formés. Haïti n’atteint actuellement que 14,22% de ses besoins en prestataires de soins de santé. En outre, les aspirants médecins et infirmiers haïtiens sont souvent attirés par des opportunités à l’extérieur du pays, où ils restent une fois leurs études terminées. Le programme de formation médicale à ZL s’efforce d’éduquer ces aspirants professionnels de la santé, tout en les encourageant à rester en Haïti grâce à des placements précieux et la formation continue. 

Depuis 2012, ZL travaille en partenariat avec l’école de médecine et de pharmacie de l’Université d’État d’Haïti et le Ministère de la Santé Publique et de la Population (MSPP) pour lancer 6 programmes de résidence et 3 bourses. Grâce à ces programmes à l’Hôpital Universitaire de Mirebalais (HUM) et à l’Hôpital Saint-Nicolas de Saint-Marc (HSN), ZL vise à augmenter le nombre de médecins et d’infirmières formés en Haïti. 

HUM est la première institution d’un pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire à recevoir l’accréditation du Conseil d’accréditation pour l’enseignement médical des cycles supérieurs (ACGME- I) 

En 2020, HUM a obtenu l’Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME-I), la branche internationale du Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education basé aux États-Unis. L’hôpital universitaire se joint à des établissements accrédités à l’échelle internationale dans seulement sept autres pays et est le premier établissement de ce type dans l’hémisphère occidental et le premier dans un pays à faible revenu. Cela valide non seulement davantage la qualité du programme de formation médicale, mais ouvre également des possibilités aux résidents de poursuivre leurs études et d’apporter des ressources supplémentaires à l’hôpital universitaire.

Programmes de résidences en :

  • Médecine Familiale 

  • Pédiatrie 

  • Urgence 

  • Médecine Interne 

  • Obstétrique et Gynécologie 

  • Chirurgie Générale 

Programmes de bourses en :

  • Neurologie 

  • Infirmerie Anesthésiste 

  • Échographie d’urgence du point de soins